User login

Republic of Guinea

Guinea location

Official language – French
Capital – Conakry
National holiday – Independence Day, 2 October (1958) (from France)

Border countries: Guinea-Bissau, Senegal and Mali (in the north), Sierra Leone, Liberia and Côte d'Ivoire (in the south). Guinea forms a crescent by curving from its western border on the Atlantic Ocean toward the east and the south. The Niger River arises in Guinea and runs eastward.

Area – 245,857 sq km
Natural resources: bauxite, iron ore, diamonds, gold, uranium, hydropower, fish, salt

Population – 13,1 mln (2020, UNCTAD)
Ethnic groups:
The population of Guinea comprises about 24 ethnic groups. The Fulas or Fulani (French: Peuls; Fula: Fulɓe), comprise 40% of the population and are mostly found in the Futa Jallon region.
The Mandinka, also known as Mandingo or Malinké, comprise 30% of the population and are mostly found in eastern Guinea concentrated around the Kankan and Kissidougou prefectures. The Soussou, comprising 20%, are predominantly in western areas around the capital Conakry, Forécariah, and Kindia. Smaller ethnic groups make up the remaining 10% of the population, including Kpelle, Kissi, Zialo, Toma and others. Non-Africans total about 10,000 (mostly Lebanese, French, and other Europeans).

Islam is the majority religion. Approximately 85% of the population is Muslim, while 8% is Christian, and 7% holds traditional animist beliefs. Muslims are generally Sunni and Sufi; there are relatively few Shi’a. Christian groups include Roman Catholics, Anglicans, Baptists, Seventh-day Adventists, and other Evangelical groups. Jehovah's Witnesses are active in the country and recognized by the Government. There is a small Baha'i community. There are small numbers of Hindus, Buddhists, and traditional Chinese religious groups among the expatriate community

Calling code: 224